Five stand in Wells By-Election

Five candidates are contesting the vacancy in the Wells ward of Malvern Hills District Council, which is open following the death of Councillor Chris Cheeseman.

They are Christopher Roland Burrows (Labour Party candidate), Louise Gibson (Independent), Simon Winfield Gill (Liberal Democrat), Chris O'Donnell (The Conservative Party) and Richard Spencer (UK Independence Party (UKIP).

The poll will be contested on Thursday 7 August.

Poll cards will be sent to all registered electors in the ward. Anyone who does not receive a poll card needs to contact the Electoral Registration Office at the Council by Tuesday 22 July.

For more information contact the registration team on 01684 862200 or email