Personal Independence Payment previously Disability Living Allowance

Disability Living Allowance (DLA) has been replaced by Personal Independence Payment (PIP) for people aged 16 to 64 from 10 June 2013 for new claims only at the moment, but this will change in the future. For claims already in payment, DLA will still apply.

The introduction of PIP is part of a wider reform of the welfare system. The new benefit will better reflect today's understanding of disability, which has changed significantly in the two decades since DLA was introduced.

PIP includes an assessment of individual needs and aims to make sure financial support is targeted at those who face the greatest challenges to living independently.

Further information on Personal Independence Payment (PIP) and Disability Living Allowance (DLA) is available from the Department for Work and Pensions website.

Page Information
This page was last reviewed 30 July 2013 at 16:53 by Sandra Gordon.
The page is next due for review 26 January 2014.
Email this page
Email to a Friend
Fill in the required details below to email this page to a friend.
You have
Add to Favourites Facebook Twitter
Map of Worcestershire Bromsgrove District Council Malvern District Council Redditch Borough Council Worcester City Council Wychavon District Council Wyre Forest District Council
The county of Worcestershire includes the districts of:

Google Translate
Malvern Hills District Council, Council House, Avenue Road, Malvern, WR14 3AF - Directions to Council Offices.