You are here: Malvern Hills District Council > Business > Business Rates > Reductions

Small Business Rate Relief

If the property has a rateable value of less than £18,000 from 1st April 2010 you may qualify for Small Business Rate Relief (SBRR). 

To qualify for SBRR the ratepayer must:

  • occupy only one property , or
  • occupy one main property and other additional properties providing those additional properties have rateable values less than £2,600.

PLEASE NOTE: You are only eligible to claim Small Business Rate Relief on ONE property regardless of how many properties you occupy.

The rateable value of a single property or the aggregate total value of all the properties must be less than £18,000 (or £25,500 within Greater London).

Businesses who qualify and whose rateable value is less than £6,000 would get 100% relief. This will decrease on a sliding scale if your rateable value is between £6,000 to £12,000.  If the rateable value is between £12,001 and £17,999 the bill would be calculated using a lower multiplier than non-qualifying businesses.

The government has stated that these rules will continue until 31st March 2014.

Businesses must apply for this in writing and there are time limits on how long you have to apply so please do not delay - apply as soon as you can. You can get further information on Small Business Rate Relief and do a trial calculation by visiting the My Business Rates website.

Apply now -

Application form to apply from period 1 April 2010.

Application form to apply for period up until 31 March 2010  (NB. The Rateable value thresholds shown above may vary if you are applying for SBRR up to 31 March 2010).

If you delay your application it could cost you money.

Please note: If your business qualifies for Mandatory Charity Relief or Mandatory Rural Rate Relief you cannot get SBRR as well.

Dont forget: if you move into, out of, or within Malvern Hills you need to let us know as this will affect your bill.  
Please contact us with the details.

Page Information
This page was last reviewed 29 January 2014 at 17:00 by Sandra Gordon.
The page is next due for review 28 July 2014.
Email this page
Email to a Friend
Fill in the required details below to email this page to a friend.
You have
Add to Favourites Facebook Twitter
Map of Worcestershire Bromsgrove District Council Malvern District Council Redditch Borough Council Worcester City Council Wychavon District Council Wyre Forest District Council
The county of Worcestershire includes the districts of:

Google Translate
Malvern Hills District Council, Council House, Avenue Road, Malvern, WR14 3AF - Directions to Council Offices.