You are here: Malvern Hills District Council > Council and Democracy > Councillor Information

Councillor Information

There are 38 Councillors, each one is elected for a period of 4 years to represent the residents in part of the district known as a Ward.  At present, the Conservative group comprises 21 Members, the Liberal Democrats comprises 8 Members, the Democratic Group comprises 9 Members.  A Councillor’s Political Group is not necessarily the same as the political party they stood for at election.

Find your Local Councillor contact details

Each elected Member serves on full council, which determines strategic policy and approves certain matters "reserved" to Council, such as setting the budget and council tax.  Councillors also serve on one of two Area Development Control Committees, and may also serve on other committees, such as Executive Committee or the Licensing and Appeals Committee.

An important part of the Councillor's role takes place away from the council itself and in their ward, where they act as a point of contact between the council and the public on a range of community matters.  Many Councillors also serve on outside organisations, such as housing associations and school/college governing bodies, providing a valuable link between the Council and these organisations.

The Leader and Chairman of the Council

The Leader of the Council is the most senior politician from the political party which has the majority of votes. In the case of Malvern Hills District Council the current leading party is the Conservatives and the Leader of the Council is Councillor David Hughes.

The Leader is responsible for spearheading policy implementation and managing the council’s priorities and vision. The Leader is also the council’s link with Central Government and they represent the council on a number of partnership projects and initiatives; such as the Malvern Hills Partnership.

The Chairman of the Council is the civic and ceremonial head of the council, chosen by council to represent the organisation across the district, be the impartial chair of meetings, support local community projects, and attend local events. In May of 2013 Councillor Roger Sutton was nominated as Chairman by his fellow councillors and he will hold the title until May 2014.

Councillor Mike Morgan was nominated to take on the role of Vice-Chairman. Although the Chairman of the Council is usually a member of a political party themselves, when they take on the official role of Chairman they agree to be apolitical for the year. This is because the Chairman of the Council is expected to be the ‘balancer’ in council meetings and ensure all political parties are represented equally. It is also important to note that when it comes to ward related business, the Chairman has no enhanced decision making powers – they voice their opinion like any other Councillor.

Page Information
This page was last reviewed 17 December 2013 at 17:07 by Cassandra Zoro.
The page is next due for review 15 June 2014.
Email this page
Email to a Friend
Fill in the required details below to email this page to a friend.
You have
Add to Favourites Facebook Twitter
Map of Worcestershire Bromsgrove District Council Malvern District Council Redditch Borough Council Worcester City Council Wychavon District Council Wyre Forest District Council
The county of Worcestershire includes the districts of:

Google Translate
Malvern Hills District Council, Council House, Avenue Road, Malvern, WR14 3AF - Directions to Council Offices.