2014 Sports Awards nominations are open!

Malvern Hills District Council is seeking nominations for the 2014 Community Sports Awards.

The awards now in their fourth year, provide an opportunity for coaches, clubs, volunteers and participants from across the Malvern Hills district to be recognised for their outstanding achievements and/or dedication, as well as to celebrate the good practice that continues to grow throughout the sporting community.
Councillor Phil Grove, Portfolio Holder for Sports and Leisure said: "It is fantastic that we are able to recognise, not only the success of teams and individuals, but also the dedication and contribution to sport within the Malvern Hills district. I would therefore like to encourage you to submit your nominations to the council, so we can recognise and celebrate the hard working sports men and women within the local community."
This year there are 13 award categories. The top two shortlisted nominees for each award will be invited to join the evening's celebrations to be held this year at Malvern College on Thursday 3 July, with the winner being announced on the night.
Nomination forms can be downloaded from the Sports Awards page or requested from Sophie Jackson by email: or by phone: 01689 862226.
Deadline for nominations is Tuesday 20th May 2014 and must be returned to Sophie via email or posted to MHDC, The Council House, Avenue Road, Malvern, WR14 3AF.
The evening will be hosted by BBC Hereford and Worcester Drive Time presenter Andrew Easton, with event production by Malvern based company AN Event Services. 
Over 200 guests will be invited to the award ceremony, including nominees, their families, local sport and leisure clubs and organisations, local business' and traders, District and County Councillors, Local MP's, partners in public health, West Mercia Police  and many more.
Winners of the Malvern Hills District Community Sports Awards will be put forward for shortlisting for the prestigious County Sports Awards in November, which has been developed by the Sports Partnership Herefordshire and Worcestershire.