Wychavon Building Design Awards 2016 

Wychavon District Council run the Building Design Awards to recognise building projects that show real design quality, craftsmanship and sustainable building practices. The Awards have been held on a biannual basis for the last decade and look to raise both the standard/profile of design across the district.

If you're a Builder, Project Manager, Architect or property owner, there are many benefits to winning these awards. The awards provide real recognition to public and peers as well as a raised profile within the industry. In this green age the sustainability aspect of the awards also provides real acclaim.

Winners benefit from media exposure at a local awards ceremony and receive a plaque for the building providing long lasting public recognition. All combined, this adds genuine appeal and saleability when marketing the property, enhances reputations and provides a certificate to mark your success.

Award Categories

Awards are broken down into the following categories:

  • Heritage Award - for the conservation of a historic building or network within an historic context
  • Home Award - for a new build
  • Home Award - for extensions and conversions
  • Sustainability Award - for projects demonstrating high standards of energy conservation or sustainable construction
  • Community Architecture Award - for projects that serve the community. e.g. Village Halls, Schools


To be eligible, projects need to have been completed between July 2014 and July 2016, and be within the Wychavon district boundary.


Projects will be judged by an independent panel made up of Wychavon representatives with design, heritage and planning experience including District Councillors, design practitioners and members of the civic societies.


If you wish to nominate a project, please use the leaflet and return either by email to policy.plans@wychavon.gov.uk or by post to Fred Davies (Policy Manager), Housing and Planning Services, Wychavon District Council, Civic Centre, Queen Elizabeth Drive, Pershore, WR10 1PT.

The closing date for nominations is Friday 9 September 2016.


For further information, please contact Reiss Sadler, Planning Officer (Policy) on 01386 565 430 or reiss.sadler@wychavon.gov.uk.