Malvern Hills District Council elects new leader

A new leader of Malvern Hills District Council has officially been elected.

Cllr Tom Wells, former Deputy Leader, was elected for the position at an Annual Council meeting last night (10 May). The Council's previous leader, Cllr Sarah Rouse, stepped down last month.

As well as this, Cllr John Michael, was elected as Chairman. The former Chairman, Cllr Cynthia Palmer, passed over her chains during the meeting.

Cllr Natalie McVey was elected as Deputy Leader and Cllr Barbara Jones-Williams as the Vice Chairman.

The Portfolio Holders remained the same except for Cllr Beverley Nielsen being elected for Environmental Services. She will take over this responsibility from Cllr Sarah Rouse.

Cllr Tom Wells, Leader of Malvern Hills District Council, said: "It is an honour and privilege to have been asked by fellow councillors to be their Council Leader. I am determined to harness the abilities of each and every councillor in serving the people of our towns and villages. One of my first tasks is to set up regular Leader's surgeries where members of the public can meet me to discuss any matter of importance to them."

Cllr John Michael, Chairman of Malvern Hills District Council, said: "I am very honoured to be elected to the post of Chairman of the Council and hope my message of cross party co-operation and goodwill will resonate with all councillors and is in line with the aspirations of the Leader of Council who elected to be inclusive when determining committee roles for the coming year."

Visit for more information about the councillors at Malvern Hills District Council.

Stay Informed

When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.

Malvern Hills District Council elects new leader
Birmingham 2022 Queen’s Baton Relay to visit Malve...